Teacher and students are responsible for the on-going-assessment of students’ work.  International and national benchmarks are used by Muhammadiyah Sang Pencerah Primary school to ensure the school is meeting acceptable standards in all areas of learning.

There are three types of assessment we apply in our learning:

1. Diagnostics

Given at the beginning of the school year, or the beginning of a new unit of study. A diagnostic test attempts to quantify what students already know about a topic.

Type of diagnostic assessment:

  • Pre tests
  • Self-assessment
  • Discussion board responses
  • Interview

2. Formative

Given throughout the learning process, formative assessments seek to determine how students are progressing through a certain learning goal.

Type of formative assessment:

  • Observation
  • Reflections
  • Question and answer session
  • Conferences
  • In-class activities
  • Student feedback

3. Summative

Given at the end of the year or unit, summative assessments assess a student’s mastery of a topic after instruction.

Type of summative assessment:

  • Examinations
  • Term papers
  • Projects
  • Portfolios
  • Performance
  • Student evaluation

The students are involved in developing the criteria for assessment in partnership with the teachers. As a result, they understand exactly what they will be assessed on and how they will be assessed. This helps students to understand and to be aware of the important aspects of their learning and to become independent learners.

4. Summative For Grade 4 - 6

Students will have a scheduled semester examination starting from Grade 4.